Home > PressDisplay, What Do YOU think? > Check out Bloggers using PressDisplay

Check out Bloggers using PressDisplay

Great to see bloggers using PressDisplay.com and creating a two way street between mainstream media and the blogging community!  Just noticed a couple out there this week – Creative Loafing’s Political Party  and Shiny New Toy Watch

Welcome bloggers!

Let’s hear more from you (and all you other bloggers out there) on what you’d  like to see to make PressDisplay even better for you all!  Tell us what you like, don’t like and need. 

To coin Fraser…”I’m listening”!

  1. November 28, 2006 at 5:01 pm

    Hi I am also using Pressdisplay on my blog and I have been in your affiliate program for a more than a year now. My problem is that I have not recieved my revenue for the last 4 months. All the mails I send to your office are ignored or Igor promises that the checks will be send immediatly. – Then nothing happens. Furthermore there seems to be massive problems with your affiliate system and the way it counts clicks, leads and sales.

    So your technology might be very advanced but, my (and your other affiliates I am in contact with) experience is that you have serius problems in delivering and living up to mutual signed contracts.

    Newspaperindex.com and thepaperboy.com see no other alternative than quiting pressdisplay as affiliate partner if not changes happens very soon.

  2. November 29, 2006 at 2:00 am

    Dear Mr. Lichtenberg
    First let me thank you for your frank and honest post regarding your account and our affiliate program. I totally agree with you that this should not have happened and that all of our affiliates should receive their monthly payments promptly and accurately. A check for the 4 months of revenue has been sent to you, which includes a 1.5% per month (i.e. ~20% annual interest!) penalty fee for late payment. Please accept my apology and rest assured that we are going to solve this issue immediately, so this problem does not occur again.
    In September 2006, at the request of our customers, we introduced a new pricing plan which converted the 7 day free trial into a “free” plan which allowed customers to use the service indefinitely and didn’t limit them to 7 days. With the new free plan, customers now receive 2 free articles for every issue and only pay for a newspaper when they want to read a 3rd article in that edition.
    While customers like this new plan, it has resulted in a dramatic change in the conversion of clicks-to-registrations by users, which affected revenues for affiliates. Therefore, to compensate for this, we simplified the terms of the affiliate program and started paying 6¢ per click to every affiliate.
    In September, we also introduced a new referral program which pays a recurring commission every month for up to 3 years to people who bring new subscribers to PressDisplay.com by sharing articles through email and/or their blogs.
    We appreciate that the affiliate program must now be restructured to align with the new referral program and pricing plans. We are committed to our affiliates and want our program to be mutually beneficial.
    In fact, we would like to get input into the updated program from our affiliates. Therefore, we will be starting an open discussion this week on this blog and will invite all affiliates to share their views on the new program. We’d like feedback from you on technologies, terms and how payments should be made (e.g. perhaps we should consider paypal for our affiliates?), etc.
    Thank you for your understanding during this transition. Affiliates such as yourself are an important part of the PressDisplay marketing team and we look forward to continuing our partnership with you.
    I hope you will join in the discussion on this blog and continue to work with us to improve our affiliate program. I look forward to hearing from you.
    Yours truly,
    Alex Gruntsev,
    VP Business Development

  3. November 29, 2006 at 9:39 am

    Thanks Alex, I like the affiliate program, despite of the troubles and misunderstandings. My users like the frontpages and I have a relatively high clickrate with them.
    I even build a part of my only with your todays’s frontpage banners and they are very popular, so it is a win-win-win situation for my users, Pressdisplay and me: http://www.newspaperindex.com/frontpages/

    I am looking forward to the new affiliate system. When I log in to pressdisplay.com/affiliate I see that I earn nothing from clicks, 1.28 per sale, and 0.50 per leads. The changes in the affiliate system has not reached my member management console yet, though there has been some random changes during the last monts.

    If you want to run a successfull affiliateprogram it is important that affiliates immediatly can see the results of their webmastering as it happens. I have some good ideas how to integrate today’s frontpages in webapplications that could create a lot of traffic, but when I am not sure that Pressdisplay is able to calculate the traffic and my revenue my efforts are put somewhere else.

    I would as an affiliate like to see much of your content. More banners in all sizes, static historic frontpages (as a lead to that actual newspaper) Drop downs with newspapers from specific regions etc.

    Right now I have success with the affiliate program at tradepub. They are building a website for every affiliate. see http://newspaperindex.tradepub.com/ maybe this could be an idea for Pressdisplays new program?

    I would like the paypal payment, direct bank transfers would be best though.

    Best regards
    Hans

  4. November 29, 2006 at 10:31 pm

    Alex wrote: “I hope you will join in the discussion on this blog and continue to work with us to improve our affiliate program. I look forward to hearing from you.”

    I tried that today. But my answer to you never showed up here. Yesterday there was no filter on this blog, suddenly there is?!?

    I fully understand if you don´t want to discuss figures and details with concerned and critical affiliates here in your new blog, so here is my email:

    hh@newspaperindex.com

    – I am listening..and waiting for my checks.

  5. November 29, 2006 at 11:14 pm

    Hello Mr. Lichtenberg

    I am sorry your other response didn’t get here. I did not change anything on the site that would filter any comments. I don’t know if there was a hiccup in the system, but I did not change anything.

    I am fairly new to WordPress so if there is some underlying filter set that I’m not aware of, I apologize. We want this blog to be open to everyone.

    And we do want opinions on our new program. I am drafting a new post about it right now…stay tuned for that and then let me and everyone else know what you think.

    Meanwhile, let me investigate what happened to your post.

    Thanks,
    Gayle Moss

  6. November 30, 2006 at 3:21 am

    I’m not in any affiliate program, so it may be that I have a different experience from some of the other commenters here.

    I’ve been a reader of the Washington Post for my adult life, and when the electronic version transitioned to PressDislplay, I checked out the web site, and liked what I saw.

    I’ve also spent a good deal of time in Europe and the Middle East, and was turned on by the idea that I could get copies of newspapers that I used to pick up on the street.

    So, count me as a fan.

    Now there’s some things I’d suggest: I’d prefer to get a pdf version of the newspaper instead of the download as it’s currently offered.

    Also, offering an incentive to bloggers isn’t a bad idea. Maybe anyone providing over a certain number of hits gets a free subscription?

  7. November 30, 2006 at 5:54 pm

    Hello “AltHippo”

    Thanks very much for your comments. We have had requests in the past for a PDF for our offline newspapers, but unfortunately, this would not protect our publishers from their papers being “shared” in their entirety for free.

    Once someone downloaded the paper, they could email it or print it and that would break our agreement with our publishers. We have to provide a method where only the subscriber can read the paper offline. It’s one of the reasons why we have to register the actual computer where PressReader will be installed as well.

    Check out my post later today on “incentives to bloggers” – ie. our new referral program. I’d be interested in your feedback. It really opens up opportunities to bloggers who blog stories from our newspapers a lot.

  8. December 1, 2006 at 6:12 pm

    Thanks, I’ll check that out.

    Regarding pdf format, I should point out that I’ve been reading the Washington Post for the last 2 years in pdf format. So, this is one of the few ways that pressdisplay.com offers something less than what I already had.

    It’s also possible to secure a pdf. That’s how their ebook system works. Before you can read a text you have to check it against a license on their server.

    Adobe has put a lot of work into their reader. I think it’s going to be tough to try to duplicate that in a stand-alone pressdisplay reader.

  9. December 4, 2006 at 8:15 pm

    Hello again…
    I should have mentioned that with PressDisplay, customers can only print 1 page at the time (another rights management issue with our publishers).

    If we were to allow users to download papers in PDF format, they could print the whole paper at once and that’s not allowed. Adobe’s PDF does not allow this level of rights management so that is why we are providing a different application.

    However, it would be great to know exactly customers get from PDF that they cannot get with our PressReader. That would help us in planning new versions of the product going forward, satisfying the needs of customers while continuing to conform to our contractual obligations to our publishers.

    Thanks!
    Gayle

  10. Idetrorce
    December 15, 2007 at 10:57 pm

    very interesting, but I don’t agree with you
    Idetrorce

  11. April 24, 2009 at 11:08 am

    This topic is quite hot on the Internet at the moment. What do you pay the most attention to when choosing what to write about?

  1. November 17, 2006 at 10:47 pm

Leave a Reply

