Home > In The News, Just For Fun, PressDisplay, Uncategorized > Happy Thanksgiving America!…. but….Who’s been eating my porridge?

Happy Thanksgiving America!…. but….Who’s been eating my porridge?

Well, tis the season for being thankful and I for one am very thankful for many things. But I’m sure you don’t want to hear about that.

Instead, today I want to share with you an article I read that made me smile.

When I came into work this morning, I thought I’d check PressDisplay to see what newspapers around the world are saying about Thanksgiving this year. There were a lot of stories in the US papers about travel, history, etc, but the story I enjoyed the most came from the Daily Mail in the UK. I don’t know about you, but this brought back memories of the show “Gentle Ben”. Do you remember that or am I just showing my age. 

I can’t remember much about the TV show now, but it does bring back good feelings when I think about it. I even named my yellow lab after that bear – my “Gentle Ben” is a big loveable pup that never grew up. Even at 13 he looks like a puppy – a 100 lb puppy, but a puppy. I wonder if Brutus looks like a cub – somehow I doubt that 🙂

Anyway…Happy Thanksgiving America! I love it when you have this weekend off – our work in Canada slows down with all of you away from the office – it’s almost like we’re having a holiday along with you.  Cheers! 


Who’s been eating my porridge?
By Barry Wigmore
Daily Mail
22 Nov 2006

WITH Dad carving the turkey and Mom bringing the freshly-baked bread to the table, it is pretty much your typical all-American Thanksgiving scene. Apart, that is, from the 7ft grizzly bear patiently waiting for his dinner. Unlike his counterparts in… read more…Tech Tags:

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

