Home > Company News, Hot Topics, In The News, Industry Talk, NewspaperDirect, PressDisplay > Newspapers look to the digital edition in battle against decline

Newspapers look to the digital edition in battle against decline

The Business (London’s first global business magazine) profiles PressDisplay.com and NewspaperDirect’s unique SmartEdition technology adopted by the Daily Telegraph, The Daily Mail, The Times, Washington Post, the Irish Times plus many others,  in this comprehensive analysis of the value of digital editions in publishers’ fight to expand their markets and boost decling revenues.

The Business - Newspapers look to the digital edition in battle against decline

 Enjoy!

  1. Laurence
    February 20, 2007 at 3:39 am

    Great article. It’s too bad that the British auditors won’t accept online paying subscribers as legitimate full-fledged readers. Ads in digital editions are so much more effective than web banners. I don’t know exactly why, but I notice almost all display digital paper ads, and I hardly ever notice web banner ads. When I read a Press Display paper, I’ve paid for it and I read it for 30-60 minutes. It’s exactly like reading a newspaper. When I visit a newspaper website, it’s for 1-5 stories and 5 minutes. They are too distracting and multi-leveled to absorb the full content of the newspaper.

  2. Mike Andrews
    March 9, 2007 at 4:10 pm

    I’m often flummoxed by the question of whether I am uniquely newspaper obsessed or whether the newspaper-dependant population is truly large enough and enduring enough to sustain our industry. The pressdisplay model is, to me, clearly superior, but I am a child of the 80s, raised on hard copy newspapers. Are youngsters satisfied with the boggling Web sites offered by Yahoo and other popular news purveyors?

  3. March 9, 2007 at 4:57 pm

    Hi Mike.
    I am so happy your like the PressDisplay model. I think it is a more mature model than the youngsters are used to, but I am confident that as they grow up, they will see the light.

    You may be obsessed – but so are hundreds of thousands of subscriber we have today – so welcome to the club!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

