Home > In The News, News Alerts > Guardian News and Media Limited chooses NewspaperDirect for its New Guardian and Observer Digital Editions

Guardian News and Media Limited chooses NewspaperDirect for its New Guardian and Observer Digital Editions

Back in March, you may recall seeing this post from Emily Bell on Inside Guardian.co.uk Blog called Relaunching the Guardian and Observer digital editions.  Emily spilled the beans a bit early on NewspaperDirect being the Guardian’s new digital edition provider, but today it’s official! 

The Guardian Digital Edition

The decision to outsource the development, hosting and technical support of GNM’s digital editions to NewspaperDirect was based on 3 factors: 

  1. The Guardian’s commitment to focus on editorial excellence,
  2. NewspaperDirect’s recognised leadership in the ePaper market, and
  3. NewspaperDirect’s distribution network and “no cost” business model

Check out the press release for more details. 

And for those of you who have been waiting patiently for The Guardian Domestic Edition to be on PressDisplay.com, well…your wait if finally over.   Now, you can get both The Guardian AND The Guardian International Edition on PressDisplay.com.

What a great way to start your week, eh?

Gayle

  1. Andy
    April 15, 2009 at 6:27 pm

    Any word when the new software for the iphone/itouch will be available? I really want to be able to read papers like the Guardian offline on my itouch when I am on the subway.

    • April 15, 2009 at 6:30 pm

      We are in the process of getting it approved by Apple, so it shouldn’t be long now…this month is my goal.

    • July 2, 2009 at 4:04 pm

      Hey Andy. Thanks for the update on the Pre. I’ve passed this along to the dev team as well.
      Cheers
      Gayle

  2. Andy
    May 23, 2009 at 3:50 pm

    I guess it is taking longer for apple to approve the app than you thought. Too bad. I hope they don’t reject the app. Any plans to make an app for the new palm web OS which the new plam pre will use? I think that should be a lot easierto do and no arduous approval process like with apple store. I plan to buy the pre when it comes out on June 6th. Either plarform would be OK for me, the itouch or the plam web OS.

    • May 28, 2009 at 5:05 pm

      Apple basically insists that we charge iPhone users again to upload newspapers to iPhones and we want to offer it for free to our current PressDisplay subscribers. So that’s currently what’s holding up the iPhone App release. Yes, we are doing the Palm OS and BlackBerry as well.

      • Andy
        June 27, 2009 at 1:54 am

        I don’t see why they need to charge. The NY Times and USA Today are available as free apps. I guess maybe the newspapers will be on apple’s servers? Because if they are on your servers it should be a non-issue. What about palm pre software web OS version. I got my pre today. Is that software available to be beta tested?

        I really want to have either software for my iTouch or my palm pre.

  3. Mike
    June 17, 2009 at 9:43 pm

    I was wondering what the delay was. Hopefully Apple will understand people aren’t buying anything through the app, they are just using the app to display information already purchased elsewhere. The actual purchase is taking place in the browser session when you click to authorize the download.

    Good luck, this is one of my most desired apps.

  4. June 29, 2009 at 5:52 pm

    Hey Andy. I hear ya on this one. The newspapers will be hosted on our server, but Apple still wants to charge subscribers. We are planning a Palm release later this year.

    I’m curious how you like the new Pre.

    cheers
    Gayle

  5. Andy
    July 1, 2009 at 12:39 am

    I really like the Pre a lot as a piece of hardware. I also like navigating on the web and how it syncs my contacts, emails, and calendar really well with Google stuff online. There are however not enough interesting apps yet. I think it is chicken and egg thing. Developers want to see more people using the phone and people want ot see more apps before they get the phone. I think having press display on the Pre if Apple does not want to play nice, could be a real boon for the Pre. The ability to read all the newspapers you want in a really easy to navigate interface on your phone would be great. The Pre, like the iTouch and iPhone, has that “pinch two fingers together/apart” gesture to increase/decrease the magnification of the screen. That’d be great to navigate with.

    Either platform would be great for me. I hope if you develop for the Pre that it doesn’t take so long (Fall is much better than Christmas!). I understand Palm made the SDK available recently to developers.
    ~Andy

  6. Andy
    August 14, 2009 at 2:49 am

    I was hoping for some word on the Pre software. I have since gotten 2 more Pres for my wife and son. We all like the phone very much and I started to see the Pre in the subways here in NYC. More and more people are buying them. I think the Pre is going to give the iphone a real run for its money and be the first real competition for the iphone. It would be a great app fro the Pre to have pressdisplay on it. Any word on the current status?

  7. August 14, 2009 at 5:40 pm

    Hi Andy
    We are quite excited about the Pre here at NewspaperDirect and our plan is to release PressReader for the Pre this fall.

    I just checked with development and I’m happy to report that we’re on track for that.

    Cheers
    Gayle

  8. Andy
    August 22, 2009 at 5:24 am

    Gayle,

    Have you seen this? http://www.engadget.com/2009/08/21/apple-reconsiders-rejected-iphone-apps-c64-emulator-on-the-way/

    Seems Apple is taking a second look at some rejected apps. Maybe they are in a more reasonable mood now.

  9. August 24, 2009 at 6:35 pm

    That is good news Andy – a step in the right direction.

    Now if they would stop insisting on double charging PressDisplay subscribers for the App, that would be great.

  10. October 7, 2009 at 7:41 pm

    Hi Andy. I’m getting tired as well. Apple has had our iphone app for some time now and we keep bugging them every week and all we get back is – “it’s in review”. Sigh…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

