Home > iPhone, PressDisplay, PressReader > More news on the PressReader iPhone Application

More news on the PressReader iPhone Application

PressReader Application on iPhoneHi everyone.

Well, there certainly is a lot of buzz and excitement happening around our PressReader iPhone application.  Just wanted to fill you in on some last minute changes we were able to push through on your behalf.

First, we have made the application itself FREE on iTunes.  Before you had to pay $0.99 for the PressReader application and then $0.99 per title you download.  Later today (we activated it already on iTunes, but not sure Apple’s turned it on yet for us), you will be able to download the application for free.

Second, we’ve enabled 7 free issues for every new user.  So you can now download your 7 favorite newspapers or magazines without paying a dime.  After 7 issues, you will be charged the normal fee for each downloaded title (price varies by country: US$0.99, C$0.99, €0.79, £0.59, AU$1.19, ¥115).

We’re also looking into some issues around the audio pack feature on the iPod Touch.  As you know you can “listen” to a newspaper using PressReader.  This feature required us to use Apple’s Audio Pack services.  Although we never need a microphone, we believe that this pack enforces the need for a microphone for apps that use the audio services.  We are working now to try and separate the need for a speaker with the need of a microphone so people using the iPod Touch w/o a microphone can still download PressReader.

What a learning experience this has been!  Thanks for your patience and please enjoy the free application and 7 free issues of your favorite titles.

Gayle

  1. CORRY
    October 23, 2009 at 2:55 am

    Why doesn’t it work with ipod touch 1st generation 3.0 software?

  2. Andy
    October 24, 2009 at 12:18 am

    .99 cents a paper on the iphone or itouch? I will pass. Reading one paper every day would cost me more than an regular unlimited account (which I re-established by the way; I missed it too much). How about the palm pre app? Is that still in the pipeline? I have been checking the free and paid apps in the palm pre store and have seen nothing about it. If you make a pre app, the papers would be free for people with an unlimited account right?

  3. October 26, 2009 at 4:40 pm

    Don’t blame you Andy on the iPhone. I sure wish we could make it free for you.

    Yes, the Palm Pre is in development now. I haven’t got a firm date yet on release, but we will try to offer it free to PressDisplay.com subscribers. I won’t know until we get into the release cycle with Palm on how they will handle that. But I hope it’s more reasonable than what Apple does.

    Gayle

  4. October 26, 2009 at 5:32 pm

    Hi Corry
    I know that we enabled it for an iPod 1st gen with 3.0 Software. I don’t understand why it is not working. I’ve sent your question off to Product Support to try and resolve. They will be in touch with you.

    Cheers
    Gayle

  5. CORRY
    October 26, 2009 at 6:00 pm

    It says on Itunes it only works with 2nd generation ipods.Also will you be getting the reader to work with Snow Leopard also?

  6. October 26, 2009 at 6:18 pm

    Hi Corry:

    The original plan was just 2nd gen and above. But then we decided to support 1st gen. I guess we forgot to update the page on iTunes. I’ll get that fixed.

    As for Snow Leopard – yes PressReader runs it.

  7. CORRY
    October 26, 2009 at 6:28 pm

    I tried it about a month ago and snow Leopard didn’t work so it is fixed now we can use it on snow leopard?I downloaded the ipod touch application when it came out and it wouldn’t go on my touch because it said it was only used for 2nd generation ipods.

  8. Barry
    October 27, 2009 at 8:01 pm

    I have an unlimited account with Press Display. Why should I pay more to download to my iPhone? I know the Press Display site for iPhone is terrible and it doesn’t work any better in pressreader but 59p is also more than the cover price of most of the British newspapers.
    I like Press Display a lot and use it every day. Pressreader charging me again for something I’ve already paid doesn’t fill me with joy.
    How about you just fix the iPhone website and I’ll use that instead of trying to bill me twice?

  9. Barry
    October 27, 2009 at 8:19 pm

    I have an unlimited account. Why do I have to pay more?

    • October 27, 2009 at 8:23 pm

      Hi Barry
      I agree with you Barry. It’s very frustrating. We are working on ways to try and make it free for people like you. Apple’s pricing model doesn’t allow us to link our PressDisplay.com users to their apps, but we’re trying very hard to get that changed.

      Meanwhile, we are working on improving PressDisplay.com on the iPhone as well so subscribers who don’t want to pay for the PressReader titles can enjoy all the bells and whistles the iPhone offers for online services like ours.
      Gayle

  10. Carlos Anzola
    October 31, 2009 at 6:54 am

    Thanks on explanation on paid accounts like I have.
    I have downloaded papers to use off line on flights you get windows that tell you “your are offline” would be nice if you could remove.
    But it a great application much better than the Windows Mobile.

    • November 2, 2009 at 5:29 pm

      Thanks Carlos! I’ll mention the “you are offline” suggestion to the development team.
      thanks!
      Gayle

  11. Anthony Wilson
    November 3, 2009 at 3:50 am

    have just discovered in itunes the press reader application and subsequently your web site. I can only say that this application is fantastic. you have my very enthusiastic praise

    • November 3, 2009 at 5:00 pm

      Hi Anthony!
      Thanks so much. Always great to welcome new users to PressDisplay.com.

      Cheers
      Gayle

  12. Nacho
    November 8, 2009 at 9:05 pm

    I still don’t understand: I have a subscription of 31 items, but if I want to read them in the iPhone what do I have to do? pay it again? Don’t think it’s fair… so, is there any other option to read off line in the iPhone app?
    Thanks in advance.

    • November 9, 2009 at 3:28 am

      Yes it’s quite silly isn’t it Nacho. We’re testing a workaround to this issue right now so subscribers won’t have to pay twice. I hope I can share the solution with you this week. Stay tuned. Thanks, Gayle

  13. November 10, 2009 at 12:12 am

    We’ve found a solution and I’ve emailed all of you the instructions. If you have not received them from me (some email addresses didn’t seem to work), please write to our customer support team for them at ndds[at]newspaperdirect.com.

    Best!
    Gayle

  14. Andy
    November 10, 2009 at 12:44 am

    Depeding on what the work around does, it is probably a good idea to DISABLE automatic updates in itunes since their updates are more about blocking things than providing a better experience for users. For example the most recent update sin itunes have been all about blocking palm pre from syncing with itunes. If apple sees this as a threat to their revenue stream they may try to block it.

    • November 10, 2009 at 12:59 am

      Well, aren’t they clever those iTunes folks. NOT! Thanks for the tip Andy!

      Cheers
      Gayle

  15. Andy
    November 10, 2009 at 12:45 am

    PS: any date on the pre app coming out?

    • November 10, 2009 at 12:58 am

      Hi Andy
      I’ve been told early 2010. I was hoping for Xmas, but Santa might be late on this one.
      Cheers
      Gayle

  16. David
    November 12, 2009 at 9:53 pm

    Great work on finding a way to use PressDisplay subscriptions on the iPod Touch/iPhone without having Apple charge for every issue. Works like a charm.

    Thank you very much.

    David

    • November 13, 2009 at 2:22 am

      You are very very welcome!!!
      Gayle

  17. Mike Blount
    November 24, 2009 at 11:47 pm

    Just got the instructions from your support team. Very easy to set up and it works perfectly. Thanks so much for finding out how to get the subscriptions tied to the iPhone.

    • November 25, 2009 at 12:42 am

      Hey Mike! Thanks so much for the note. Can I quote you on that? 🙂 I’d love to let all of our users know how easy it is.

      Cheers
      Gayle

  18. January 3, 2010 at 11:07 pm

    Impressive GET! Whom do ya get all your Apple news? 🙂 My hat goes off to you, sir.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

