Home > iPad, iPhone, NewspaperDirect, PressReader, PressReader for iPad > PressReader V2 Fails Newspaper Sobriety Test

PressReader V2 Fails Newspaper Sobriety Test

Well, looks like PressReader had “one too many” newspapers.  After failing the app breathalyzer crashalyzer test, V2 spent a few nights in the slammer and is determined to clean up its act!

In all seriousness though, PressReader Fans, thank you!

Your feedback has been instrumental in helping us address various instabilities occurring in version 2.  We’ve managed to fix some already, but you can bet we won’t be sleeping until they are all resolved.

Our mission is to make PressReader as rock solid and stable as possible for you.

Step one involves submitting a new version of PressReader to Apple by the end of this week.  Subject to its approval, you’ll soon be running a much more stable version of the app.  And for those still running iOS 3.1.3 on your iPhone or iPod Touch, this release will help you get right back on the PressReader bandwagon!

If you’re looking to try out PressReader for the first time and have promo/offer code, you can now sign up using the code directly through the app on your iPad, iPhone or iPod Touch.  Just open Safari on your Apple device, navigate to www.pressreader.com and click on the PressDisplay.com registration link.

In the meantime, we would like to thank all current users for your patience and ongoing support of PressReader.  We would also like to take this opportunity to open up the floor.  We strongly believe that with your continued feedback, suggestions and insight, PressReader will only get better and better.

Thank You,

The PressReader Team

  1. David Harding
    November 3, 2010 at 5:22 am

    Like v2, but there are still issues as the app closes in the middle of reading and the issue appears on the stand with the new banner. But still a pleasure to use generally.

    • Michael Oksinski
      November 3, 2010 at 4:08 pm

      Thanks for your comment, David. Glad you’re enjoying v2 and thanks for hanging in there. Once the latest version of PressReader gets approved, it’ll be much, much more stable. I’m looking forward to it just as much as everyone else :).
      Cheers,
      Michael

  2. Jim camelford
    November 3, 2010 at 1:35 pm

    Pressreader does abnormally exit a lot. Why not have it record the publication and page in a log file as you are reading and if it restarts after an abnormal exit, you could automatically send the log to you so you would know what caused it to crash.

    Also the whole subscription management thing could be so much easier to operate….even as an experienced user I find it opaque to navigate and find out exactly what’s going on. A tabular view of what you’d subscribed to on a single page … All pubs… With an option to modify thee would be so much cleaner

    • Michael Oksinski
      November 3, 2010 at 4:19 pm

      Hi Jim. Thanks for the great feedback. I’ve forward it directly to our Product Development Team.

      Just to let you know, if you tap on Settings then on Subscriptions, you’ll be able to view/edit all of the auto-delivery subscriptions you’ve set up on one single page.

      Have a good one!
      Michael

  3. Tony
    November 5, 2010 at 1:07 pm

    Your app is best I’ve ever Used to read a newspaper. Great job

    • Michael Oksinski
      November 5, 2010 at 3:54 pm

      Thanks for the feedback, Tony! Glad you’re enjoying PressReader – it’s only going to get better…
      Cheers,
      Michael

  4. Filimon
    November 6, 2010 at 10:56 am

    Hi Michael,

    Regardless of certain bugs, v2 of PressReader is definitely an improvement IMHO (presentation / overall responsiveness). Please keep up the great work !

    Cheers,
    Filimon

    • Michael Oksinski
      November 8, 2010 at 5:07 pm

      Thanks Filimon! Glad you’re enjoying the release :).

  5. Simard
    November 6, 2010 at 1:51 pm

    Small icons on opening, as previous version, please.

    As LaPresse reader, why can’t I have choice of app language?
    So many apps from around the world offer this choice. Why not yours?

    Any preferences or setting choice in menu somehow?

    Beside these irritants, this app performs well on my iPad. Thanks for reading.

    • Michael Oksinski
      November 8, 2010 at 5:20 pm

      Thanks for your comment, Simard. I’ve forwarded your suggestions to product development team. I definitely agree that a multi-language interface would be beneficial.
      Cheers,
      Michael

  6. Mat
    November 8, 2010 at 12:25 pm

    A great app. It runs so smooth on my iPhone 3 and was surprised how I could flick through the pages without having to wait for an image to appear like I have found with other magazine/PDF readers. It would be great to be able to use press reader as a PDF reader. I’m looking forward to updates and would like to thank you for a cool app.

    • Michael Oksinski
      November 8, 2010 at 5:55 pm

      Cheers Mat!

  7. November 9, 2010 at 3:57 pm

    Background:
    Before updating to the current 2.0 version, I was reading “The Globe & Mail” using “Globe2Go” and the St. John’s “The Telegram” using “PressReader”. I had thought the two apps were the same, with some “customizations”; however, I realize they were probably just using the same base libraries.

    One of the things I really wanted (badly!) was to be able to read both newspapers using a single app. I didn’t seem to be able to do that until PressReader 2.0 — Thank You!

    I had (have) issues with both Globe2Go and PressReader. Please be aware that some of these may be because I’m 65 and my “fine motor control” is not as great as it used to be.

    Issues:
    Yes, there are some stability issues. As others have pointed out, one of the great annoyances is that after a “Whoops! Where did the app go?” type of crash, one loses one’s place. In my case, that generally means that the publication appears on the bookshelf with the “NEW” banner still on it (I tend to read the papers at one sitting). So some type of on-the-fly recording of a bookmark would be a nice feature.

    I’ve never been a great fan of textured desktops (even on my personal computers). That’s only cosmetic and is only an issue for the bookshelf, so I can live with that; though a second, light coloured (pale pastel blue, for example) background would be nice.

    Timing and default actions are driving me crazy. This is really a category of related issues.

    1. When I expose the strip of page images across the bottom of the screen, it should NOT go away until “I tell it to”. Currently, after a couple of seconds it auto-hides. This is incredibly annoying when searching for something. For example, I always read the Bridge Column. When I’m in a hurry, I often want to skip most of the paper and just read a couple of things, including the bridge column. The bottom strip will hide itself as I am paging through it. Since the page can be hard to decipher in the thumbnails, I often have to stare at them for a few seconds while trying to see if a page contains what I’m looking for — then it disappears! When it does “auto-hide” and I expose it again, it is then repositioned back at the beginning (strictly speaking, I guess it is repositioned so the page one was viewing shows in the thumbnail strip). I’ve had the app crash while I’ve been trying to find my way around this navigation strip.

    2a. Swiping. When I am scrolling up and down a page (obviously using a vertical swipe gesture), I will very frequently have the app. page to the previous or next page. I’m assuming that my “gesture” is being misinterpreted as a horizontal stroke. The criteria are “off” for this. Any “almost vertical” gesture should never be interpreted as a horizontal one. My wife does not run into this problem, so her fine motor control is probably better. Possibly this also has something to do with my wife having her iPad locked in portrait mode while I vary mine depending on what I’m doing (and always read the newspaper with it in landscape mode). This problem may have been addressed in the last update.

    2b. When I have a page zoomed and am navigating around by tap-and-drag, I sometimes “lose the zoom” — I imagine my attempt at navigating is being misinterpreted as a single tap.

    Because of the crashes, I started using Globe2Go again for a while; however, I have reverted to using PressReader (the advantages of one app out weigh the current instabilities).

    I’m very happy to hear that your organization is attempting to address them.

    Despite my comments above, it is a fine app and I love being able to get my newspapers electronically (I have annual subscriptions) rather than delivered — less expensive and more reliable!

  8. Bruce Thorlakson
    November 9, 2010 at 9:07 pm

    Love the new look, but seems to be very buggy. Keeps crashing part way thru reading a newspaper & you have to start over again. Very frustrating, but I am sure you will work out the bugs.
    Cheers
    Bruce

    • Michael Oksinski
      November 10, 2010 at 5:15 pm

      Hi Bruce. Thanks for taking the time to write. The new version of PressReader will most certainly take care of the crashing issues. It’ll also come with some great new features and functionality. Please keep checking back for updates! 🙂
      Cheers,
      Michael

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

