Home > Android, In The News, Industry Talk, iPad, RIM > Who will win the tablet wars?

Who will win the tablet wars?

Hey everyone,

Did you see the new forecast by Gartner? Analysts there are saying that the Apple iOS will dominate the media tablet market through 2015, owning more than half of it for the next 3 years.

Well, that’s certainly a bold statement given the fact that the Android tablets have hardly scratched the surface of retail store shelves.

According to Gartner,  “Google’s decision not to open up the Honeycomb, its first OS version dedicated to tablets, to third parties will prevent fragmentation, but it will also slow the price decline and ultimately cap market share at 39%.”

As for RIM, Carolina Milanesi, research vice president at Gartner said, ““It will take time and significant effort for RIM to attract developers and deliver a compelling ecosystem of applications and services around QNX to position it as a viable alternative to Apple or Android. This will limit RIM’s market share growth over the forecast period.  It will be mainly organizations that will be interested in RIM’s tablets because they either already have RIM’s infrastructure deployed or have stringent security requirements.”

It was only two months ago that Research firm IHS iSuppli estimated that by 2013, the iPad’s market share would decline to less than 50% of the overall market.

LOL!  Tablet wars haven’t really even started yet, but the analysts are already boxing it out in the numbers game.  I’m surprised that they are that far apart in their predictions, but I guess that makes good headlines.

At this point, I don’t think anyone really knows what will happen, but it certainly makes for interesting reading and gives me something to blog about 🙂

I’m curious…Who do you think will have the largest tablet market share in 2015?

Gayle

  1. Andy
    April 18, 2011 at 10:27 pm

    I love my HTC Evo phone. Who is to say what the line between phones and tablets will be in 3 to 5 years? Apple is making the same mistake Sony made by trying to lock up both the hardware and software and thereby trying to control a closed ecosystem. That can never last. Apple has the advangage…but just for now. The balance is tipping..

    • April 19, 2011 at 12:00 am

      Hey Andy! I am looking for a new phone, so I’ll definitely check out HTC in my hunt. I totally agree with you – the balance is tipping. I like the look of PressReader on the iPad, but if I were buying a new tablet, I’d go for a 7″ Android I think. I hate being locked into to Apple’s walled garden.
      Cheers
      Gayle

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

